Musings Volume 1

Today is a day of observations.  (I spent most of my day photographing Take Your Child To Work Day at Asahi)  I have a feeling that this will not be the last in my “Musings” series, so I’m calling it Volume 1. 

We had 40+ children come to work with their parents, all over the age of 8.  The kids made up marketing plans, picked a mystery basket that had certain ingredients in it, and were told that they had to make their ice cream sound the best.  The kids came up with some great schemes.  They were all little sellers.  All profits went to our local charity we support, the Family Impact Center.  They made about $100 at $1 a bowl of ice cream. 

They were quiet and respectful of the rules we imposed upon them, kept themselves busy during lunch down time, and hawked their little hearts out when people came out from the plant to buy ice cream.  We had visitors from Japan at the office, and our President gave them each a ticket to get ice cream.  They seemed delighted and a little overwhelmed by the scene before them.  (Imagine groups of 7 children in bright yellow shirts, holding up signs and yelling about how much better their toppings are)  It was quite a spectacle.  I promise to post pictures just as soon as I can get them off of my camera.  (Tonight is quilting at a friend’s church, but I’ll try!  If all else fails, I’m home tomorrow so I’ll try to get some sewing and blogging done.)

You know, it’s funny- when you buy a domain?  People start seeing your blog.  It’s been substantial for me.  I don’t have a whole lot of followers, but people are consistently visiting my blog every day, and that is a helluva lot better than my free blogger account that I was lucky to get one view per month.  Granted, I’m writing more, and trying to do a better job of it, but that’s because I’m paying real US currency to have this blog.  Thank you for dropping by.  =)

Leave a Reply

