Ball Jointed Dolls

So I have to admit it, I’m 26 years old, and I’m contemplating buying a doll.  LOL  Not just any doll, a $200-300 ball jointed doll.  I think my husband would flip his lid if I told him about it.  >.<

It is a bit overwhelming, and this will not be an impulse buy.  I am contemplating making one, but I haven’t sculpted anything in a very long time, and I’m not sure how well it will come out.

I think I’m having such a hard time because the more affordable ones look too cartoonish to me.  I want one with a little more western style nose, but I don’t want an american looking doll.

 

The things I do know:

  • I’ll do the face-up myself, I know I can still paint. (face-up is adding makeup and eyebrows)
  • I want my doll to be between 35 and 45 cm tall.  (for size comparison, Barbie is approximately 30 cm tall)  I have seen these called “kids”, “mini” or “MSD” depending on the brand.
  • I want a resin doll.  I am finding the best are usually in resin or vinyl resin mixtures.
  • I want a female.  I’d prefer a larger bust one, call me vain.
  • I’ll probably change out the eyes and purchase a few wigs
  • I mainly want the doll to make clothes and accessories, but I will probably take obnoxious pictures of it posing too.  =)

Here are a few of the dolls that I like so far (pictures are from either retailer or mfg websites)

This first one is a “bustier” girl, these two are made by Resin Soul.

3 thoughts on “Ball Jointed Dolls

  1. Lovely dolls! And I love that you’re going to take obnoxious posing pictures with her! LOL! That makes it worth the money! Don’t forget to make her a doll quilt! (I’m all about quilts, you know?!)

  2. Heya~! I don’t think age matters much, you like what you like. I was 24 when I got my first doll, and that was a year ago. Have you checked out Iplehouse? They got Juvenile (45cm) dolls. You can choose the breast size, but I’m not sure if their largest bust is big enough for your taste. It’s a lot more expensive that Resin soul though.

Leave a Reply

